Government  >  Departments  >  Technical Education, Training & Skill Development
Department Logo  Technical Education, Training & Skill Development

The Technical Education, Training and Skill Development (TET&SD) Department is the nodal department for the state government for Technical Education (upto Polytechnic level), Industrial Training, as well as all skilling interventions in the state through its 3 Directorates viz:-

  • Directorate of Industrial Training covering all the Industrial Training Institutes
  • Directorate of Technical Education & Training covering all the Polytechnic institutes  
  • Directorate of Vocational Education & Training covering all the Vocational Institutes (VIII+ & X+ interventions) across the state. 

All these directorates are supported by the West Bengal State Council of Vocational Education & Training and Skill Development (WBSCVE&T&SD) and the West Bengal State Council for Vocational Training (WBSCVT). 

Furthermore to have an integrated approach towards Skill Development, the Government of West Bengal has constituted 

  • The West Bengal Skill Development Mission (WBSDM) under the chair of the Hon’ble Chief Minister for providing policy guidance and,
  • The PaschimBanga Society for Skill Development (PBSSD) under the chairmanship of the Chief Secretary to make Skill Development interventions in terms of the overall policy of the Government.

In pursuance of the aforementioned, the Government of West Bengal launchedits Flagship Scheme,“Utkarsh Bangla” for the entire non-institutionalshort term Skill Development interventions to provide wage/ self-employment linked skills training to the residents of the State. Under this scheme all interventions funded by the various State Government Departments/ Bodies/ Agencies from State and other funds leading to Skill Development shall be made by PBSSD for the State Government while ensuring uniform courses supported by high fidelity assessment and pan India acceptable certification.

As on date the State has 152 Polytechnics with 37,943 seats and 248 ITIs with 69,025 seats. Also there are 2747 Vocational Training Centres imparting vocational education as well as vocational training and NSQF compliant vocational education coursesare being implemented in 289 schools. 

Minister-of-State (Independent Charge)

Sri Indranil Sen

Address: Karigari Bhawan, 2nd Floor,
Action Area: III, Plot B-7,
New Town, Rajarhat, Kolkata - 700160
Phone: 2324-5854
Fax: 2324-5853

Additional Chief Secretary

Sri Anoop Kumar Aggarwal, IAS

Address: Karigari Bhawan, 2nd Floor,
Action Area: III, Plot: B-7,
New Town, Rajarhat, Kolkata-700160
Phone: 2324-4799
Fax: 2324-7888

Nodal Officer

Nitish Kumar Das, WBCS(Exe.) Joint Secretary

Address: Karigari Bhawan, 3rd Floor, Action Area:III, Plot: B-7, New Town, Kolkata-700160

Last updated on: Sunday, 31 December 2023
Information Source: Department of Technical Education, Training & Skill Development, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved.