Government  >   Departments  >  Public Works
  Public Works
Public Works Department is one of the prestigious departments under the control of the Government of West Bengal. Under PWD, the Public Works and Public Works (Roads) Directorates are presently entrusted with the planning, survey, design, construction and maintenance of Roads, Bridges and Buildings throughout the state as well as having various responsibilities for emergency and relief activities. PWD also provides infrastructural support for both original and repair works to all the departments directly under the Government of West Bengal as well as different Semi-Government / Government Undertakings etc. Besides construction of Buildings, Bridges, Roads including national and state highways, PWD also carries out works related to stadiums, swimming pools, auditoriums, airports, helipads, food go downs, bus terminus, pay & use toilets, motels ,electrification, sanitary plumbing, air-conditioning, fire-fighting & detection, lifts, water supply, Generators, EPABX, information Technology etc. Therefore, one can imagine the huge task assigned to PWD engineers. The Department is headed by the Minister-in-Charge. The Secretary takes care of the implementation of the policy decision & administration. The Engineer-in-Chief manages the execution of engineering matters. The Public Works Department has two segments--Secretariats and Directorates. There are two directorates in the department namely Public Works Directorate and Public Works (Roads) Directorate. The domain of work in PWD in the State is divided into three zones namely North Zone, South Zone and West Zone. The Public Works Directorate is headed by the Chief Engineer, Head Quarter, P.W.Dte. The CE Planning, CE Electrical, CE Social Sector, CE North Zone, CE West Zone, CE South Zone and the Chief Govt. Architect are under him. The Public Works Directorate has three wings namely Civil Wing, Electrical Wing and Architectural Wing. The Public Works (Roads) Directorate is headed by the Chief Engineer, Head Quarter, P.W.(Roads)Dte. The CE Planning, CE National Highway, CE RBRI, CE North Zone, CE West Zone and CE South Zone are under him. The Public Works (Roads) Directorate has three wings namely Civil Wing, National Highways Wing and Mechanical Wing. The department is organized in the form of Head Quarter, Zonal Chief Engineer's Office, Circle Office, Division Office, Sub-Division Office and Section Office. The Zonal Chief Engineer heads a particular zone. The Superintending Engineer heads each of the Circle Offices while the Executive Engineers, Assistant Engineers and Junior Engineers head the Division, Sub-Division and Section Offices respectively.

There are also four Public Sector Undertakings under this Department namely West Bengal Highway Development Corporation Limited, Mackintosh Burn Limited, Westinghouse Saxby Farmer Limited and Britannia Engineering Limited. The Department has a network to maintain about 17265 km road length throughout the State out of which 1740 km is National Highway, 3612 km is State Highway, 9495 km is Major District Road and 2418 km is Rural Road.

The principal aim of PWD is to augment the economical activities of the whole state, create wealth through improvement in the transportation system and alleviate poverty through construction of various bridges, roads and public buildings along with extending support for improvement of transportation services. Apart from these the Department has to undertake some extended responsibilities in social area also. With the allotted sum, this department in the changed scenario is geared up to undertake any responsibility for the development and progress of the state through construction of roads, bridges, buildings and various other structures.


Sri Aroop Biswas

Address: Nabanna HRBC building,
325, Sarat Chatterjee Road,
(8th Floor), Mandirtala Shibpur, Howrah-711102.
Phone: 2214-3161,2214-1616
Fax: 2214-4788

Principal Secretary

Sri Indevar Pandey, IAS

Address: Nabanna, 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road,
(8th Floor), Mandirtala, Shibpur, Howrah-711102.
Phone: 2214-5444
Fax: 2214-5825

Nodal Officer

Sri Prasun Parimal Ghosh, Joint Secretary(project and co-ordination)

Address: Nabanna, 8th Floor,
325, Sarat Chatterjee Road,
Mandirtala, Shibpur, Howrah-711102
Phone: 2253 5129
Fax: NA
Last updated on: Wednesday, 1st May 2019
Information Source: Nodal Officer, Department of Public Works, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved.