Government  >   Departments  >  Urban Development and Municipal Affairs
  Urban Development and Municipal Affairs

Urban Development

The Urban Development Department, which was previously known as the Metropolitan Development Department presently has three Branches viz. Metropolitan Branch, Town and Country Planning Branch and Urban Land Ceiling Branch, each of which has a different history of its own.

During the fifties, the Irrigation Deptt. took up a township project in the North-Eastern suburb of Kolkata by the name of Salt Lake City.

In 1961 the Kolkata Metropolitan Planning Organization, the first of its kind in India, was set up through a resolution of the Development and Planning Deptt., to develop a comprehensive development plan for the Metropolis of Calcutta.

Later on, the Development & Planning Department set up separate Development Authorities for Siliguri-Jalpaiguri, Asansol- Durgapur, Digha, Haldia, Sriniketan - Santiniketan and Jaigaon and Planning Authorities for Burdwan, Midnapore - Kharagpur, South 24-Parganas, Mirik, Bakreswar, Barjora - Gangajalghati, Farakka, Gangasagar-Bakhali, Tarapith-Rampurhat, Furfura Sharif. The purpose was all-round development and preparation of Land Use and Development Control Plan (LUDCP)of the local areas.

All the above Development Authorities and Planning Authorities were created under the Town & Country Planning Branch of the Development and Planning Department.

For all round development of certain other local areas, Kanchrapara Area Development Scheme (Kalyani Township) and Patipukur Township were undertaken by the Development & Planning Department in the fifties and sixties.

Later on, as the activities of these two Sectors gradually gained momentum two full fledged offices in the name and style of Kalyani Estate Office and Patipukur Estate Office were established under the said Development and Planning Department.

Subsequently in 1966 Kolkata Metropolitan Water & Sanitation Authority (KMW & SA), and again in 1970, Kolkata Metropolitan Development Authority (KMDA) were established for implementation of a large-scale urban infrastructure development programme, the objective of which was to arrest the rapid deterioration in the urban involvement of Kolkata Metropolitan Area and to address the emerging urban aspirations of the urban people.

In 1912 Kolkata Improvement Trust (KIT) had started operation with a programme of development of urban infrastructure of the city of Kolkata in terms of the Kolkata Improvement Act, 1911 (K. I. Act). Both KIT and KMW & SA were later placed under the administrative control and supervision of the KMDA Board for integration and quicker implementation of various Urban Development Projects within the KMA.

The Urban Land Ceiling Branch with a directorate at Kolkata and sub-divisional offices in the districts were set-up under the Land and Land Reforms Department under the Urban land (Ceiling & Regulation) Act, 1976. Later on, it came under the Urban Development Department.

Municipal Affairs

With enactment of the Constitution 74th Amendment Act, 1992 the entire governance system of the country has been divided in clear three tires. First the Central Government, second the State Government and the third tier is the Local Government. This department administers the said third tier of the Government within urban areas that is the Urban Local Bodies of this State (Municipal Corporations, Municipalities and Notified Areas). State Government has set up Department of Municipal Services in 1972.Subsequently, in 1978, the Municipal Service Department was renamed as Local Government & Urban Development Department.Present Municipal Affairs Department was created in the year 1991 vide Home (C&E) Department's Notification No 16133-AR dated 29 June, 1991 by bi-furcating the Local Government and Urban Development Department.As per Rules of Business of the State Government, the department controls the budget of the State Government under Major Head 2215, 2217, 2211, 4217, 6217, and 3603.


Janab Firhad Hakim

Address: Nagarayan, Block-DF-8, Sector-I,
Bidhannagar, Kolkata-700064/
Pouro Prashasan Bhawan, DD-I, Sector-I,
Salt Lake, Kolkata -700064
Phone: 2214-5497, 2214-3197, 2214-1386
Fax: 2214-3853


Sri Onkar Singh Meena, IAS

Address: DS-8, Salt Lake,
Sector – I, Kolkata-700064
Phone: 2334-9394
Fax: 2334 7880

Nodal Officer

Smt. Debjani Datta, Joint Secretary

Address: "Nagarayan" , 5th Floor,
DF-8, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700064
Phone: 2321-2100
Fax: 2321-2100
Last updated on: Wednesday, 1st May 2019
Information Source: Nodal Officer, Department of Urban Development and Town and Country Planning, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved.