The Housing Department administers various Social Housing Schemes with specific emphasis on the poor and backward classes in accordance with the National Housing and Habitat Policy. It has enacted different legislations from time to time to fulfil those .

Activities undertaken by the Housing Department

(a)         Providing shelter to the people belonging to  Economically Weaker section :

     Gitanjali  is a new state scheme under which people  belonging to the Economically Weaker Section are provided homes.  A grant of Rs. 70,000/- is provided to the beneficiaries in the plains area and with an additional grant of Rs. 5,000/- i.e. a total of Rs. 75,000/- is provided to the people in the Hills, Sunderbans and Jangalmahal areas.  For the people affected by the project in the Rajarhat New Town area, 720 dwelling units have been handed over to the WBHIDCO for distribution to these affected people.

(b)         Developing wayside facilities for national and state high ways :

     Patha Sathi have been constructed on national high ways, state high ways and other important roads with a view to provide shelter for travellers.  The facilities are passengers waiting room, family rooms, restaurant and toilets.  These are operational either through concerned District Magistrate / self help groups / West Bengal Tourism Development Corporation or selected agencies.

(c)         Hostels for working women :

     In addition to the existing hostels where women working in Government, semi-Government, private firms, MNCs are accommodated,  5 new hostels have come up.  They are Durgapur (Anannya),  at Salt Lake (Swayamsiddha), Ibrahimpur Road, Jadavpur,  Banamali Naskar Road and Becharam Chatterjee Street.

(d)        Night Shelter for patient parties :

     For the benefit of patient parties who have to stay back in the hospitals due to emergency situation,  facilities have been constructed for their overnight stay at the following places –

1.       NRS Medical College, Kolkata

2.       Diamond Harbour district hospital

3.       Medical College, Kolkata

4.       Baruipur sub-division hospital

(e)         Rental Housing Estate :

     For the benefit of accommodation of State Government Employees in service, new Rental Housing Estates have been constructed at –

1.        Diamond  Harbour, South 24-Paraganas

2.        Lake Gardens, Kolkata

3.        Bishnupur, Bankura

4.        Bachur Doba, Jhargram

5.        Khatra, Bankura

6.        Durgapur City Centre, Burdwan

7.        Contai, Purba Medinipur

8.        Ghatal, Paschim Medinipur

9.        Buniadpur, Dakshin Dinajpur

10.     Rice Mill Campus, Coochbehar

11.     Sitala, Asansol

(f)          Common facilities :

     For the benefit of the public,  three Auditoriums have been constructed at

1.         Kusthia Public Rental Housing Estate

2.         Regent Park Rental Housing Estate

3.         Regent Park Public Rental Housing Estate

(g)         Akanksha -  For the benefit of Government Employees, 50,000 flats are proposed to be constructed at different parts of West Bengal for transfer on ownership basis to them.  On a pilot basis 422 flats have already been  allotted to the Government employees  in Rajarhat.

(h)        Rehabilitation Scheme to the affected  persons in Raniganj Coalfield area :

       This department has undertaken  construction on a pilot basis – 116 nos. of flats for the people in the Coalfield area.  DPR is under preparation.

For further details please visit :http://www.wbhousing.gov.in/
Housing Board Website


Contact Personnel of Right to Information Act. 2005


Department Department Department
Minister of State with Independent Charge Minister of State with Independent Charge
Smt Chandrima Bhattacharya
Address: New Secretariat Building, Block-C, 3rd Floor,1 K.S.Roy Road, Kolkata-700001.
Phone: 2262-4004, 2262-4005
Fax: 2262-4091
Email:  mhousing56@yahoo.com 
Secretary(Additional Charge) Secretary
Sri Khalil Ahmed, I.A.S
Address: N.S. Building, Block-A, 1st Floor, Kolkata-700 001.
Phone: 2262-5770
Fax: 2262-5718



Nodal Officer Nodal Officer
Sri Dipankar Basu,Deputy Secretary
Address: N.S.Building,Block-A,1st Floor, Kolkata-700001
Email: dysecyestt.housing-wb@gov.in


Last updated on: Mon, 25 Feb 2019
Information Source: Nodal Officer, Department of Housing, Government of West Bengal