Government  >  Departments  >  Tourism

The Department of Tourism, Government of West Bengal, is responsible for the development of tourism in the state of West Bengal. The Department of Tourism in West Bengal is engaged in facilitating the services for promotion of tourism. West Bengal offers a remarkable range of destinations and experiences within a single state. It is a land of contrasts - in climate, vegetation, scenery, and landscape and has a rich diversity of ethnicity, culture, languages and religion. It is a truly unique state because it stretches all the way from the seas to the Himalayas. It has always been a traveller's delight as there are fantastic trips set around the misty and romantic hill stations, diverse wildlife and verdant teagardens of the Dooars, historical monuments and temples of Murshidabad and Bishnupur, wide and splendid beaches of Digha and Mandarmoni and the lush forested islands and meandering rivers of Sunderbans- destinations that are great revelations!

The Department has a unit named West Bengal Tourism Development Corporation Limited (WBTDCL) which has many tourist centres all around the state at various districts where online booking is also available. The Department has taken a number of initiatives and also offers various packages through WBTDCL throughout the year as well as on specials occasions and festivals like Durga Puja, the greatest festival of the world, Christmas, Poush Mela, Basanta Utsav etc. The Department has its digital presence through its website, Mobile App and Social Media, Radio and TV as well as audio visual mediums.

The Department of Tourism is located at the New Secretariat Building, 1 K. S.  Roy Road, Kolkata-700001.

For further details please visit:
The Sharadotsav or Durga Puja website:
Sharadotsav Mobile App:

Minister-of-State (Independent Charge)

Sri Indranil Sen

Address: New Secretariat Building, 3rd Floor, Block A,  1 Kiran Sankar Roy Road, Kolkata - 700001
Phone: 2262 8331
Fax: 2262 8331

Principal Secretary (Additional Charge)

Smt. Nandini Chakravorty, IAS

Address: New Secretariat Building, 3rd Floor, Block A, 1 Kiran Sankar Roy Road, Kolkata - 700001
Phone: 2214-4427
Fax: 2214-4695

Nodal Officer

Sri Subir Kumar Chatterjee, Special Officer

Address: New Secretariat Building, 3rd Floor, Block A, 1 Kiran Sankar Roy Road, Kolkata - 700001
Phone: 2262-8418

Last updated on: Sunday, 31 December 2023
Information Source: Department of Tourism, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved.